Day 4, Segment 8

Day 4 – June 3

Today was rough. And I did not expect it to be that way. I woke up feeling fine, less sore and my knee didn’t seem to be as bad as it was when I went to bed so I figured I’d feel fine, if not better than yesterday. Not the case. A bunch of people came to my starting point to run with me so it was disappointing right away that I was having trouble running very far at a time because of my knee. The fun news was hitting mile 100 after the first mile though!!

image

The knee pain would go back and forth between sharp and dull.  When it was dull I was able to do a slow running pace, but as soon as it got sharp I would start limping and eventually need to stop to walk.  We were only doing 2.5 or 3 miles at a time because of the pain I was in.  Even with the company it seemed to take a long time.  Yesterday the time flew by when I had the company.  Today it was still not quite enough to distract me from the pain.  At one point, I think around mile 11, I set out with the group and all of a sudden I knew I wasn’t going to make it much farther.  I came to a stop looked at everyone and said I wasn’t so sure my knee would hold out for the next bit.  So one of the runners gave me a high five and said “Tag, we are it” and they took off to run the next 3.5 miles for me.  Those were the first miles I gave up this entire time.  And it hurt my heart so bad.  I wanted to do this, all of it.  I don’t want to miss a step.  And it makes me so sad that I can’t do that.  Especially after yesterday when I felt so confidence that I could do this.  All of it.

image

After they took off running I worked on some stretching with Cornelia to try and get loosened up and in less pain by the time they got those few miles run.  Most of the runners left for the day once they ran those miles for me, but one family stayed and their son Zacc walked and very slow jogged with me some more miles.  Once he left I was at 14 for the day.  Kendra, one of the crew members was going to run a few for me, and my plan after that was to walk/jog 3, and leap frog the rest with Kendra.  When I set out walking to do that I got a very sharp pain in my inner thigh shooting upwards (a lot like the pain that kept me from running the Boston Marathon) and I could barely limp forward.  When I looked down at my pace on my GPS watch it said I was limping at 30 minute per mile pace.  So it was going to take an HOUR AND A HALF for me to limp the next three miles.  Not happening.  That is where I draw the line.  Sorry, but that is too much even for me.

So I limped back over to the RV and told the ladies that I just wasn’t going to make it the rest.  We decided that Kendra would run four more which would bring us to 30 miles, Cornelia would walk two and then together her and I would walk the last one together no matter how long it took.  That is exactly what we did, which brought me to 15 miles for the day.  Almost every single one of those miles very painful.  Oh well, it is what it is, and coming into this adventure this is what I expected to happen and I was pleasantly surprised when I was able to make it the first three days, 33 miles each.  Day four was not my day, and I really hope day 5 is better.  I really want one more good day. On a positive note, I did play with bubbles while Kendra ran for me 😉

image

The rest of the day has also been a bit of a mess, with Bryan’s flight being delayed out of Milwaukee, the jeep (sag vehicle) breaking down at the event we had, and us being semi stranded until Bryan gets into town to pick us up and take us way back to where the RV is with the rental vehicle.  Just a bad day all around.  I am currently tying this on a computer at the hotel lobby of some of the MS Run the US people who are here for the fundraising event we went to tonight, because we have no where else to go while we wait for Bryan to get here from the airport.  By the time we get back to the RV where we are sleeping it will be after midnight and then I have to start again bright and early.  It is going to be interesting to say the least. The picture below was taken at the event. Crew members!!! Love them!

image

The good news is that I got several donations at the event tonight, and once I put them into my site I will be only about $60 away from my goal of $13,000!! YAYYY!!! Thank you everyone!!

Well, I sure hope tomorrow is better.  But for now my brain is feeling tired and fuzzy and I am ready to forget this day.  Please get here soon Bryan!

And, I’m out.  Thanks for reading!

Run/Walk Happy,

Nikki 🙂

Leave a Reply

